
Speak
Speaking-first language learning app with an AI tutor for English speakers
Own Speak? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.

Pricing
Free trial
Free trial
Yes
Company
Speakeasy Labs, Inc.United States
Platforms
What is Speak?
Speak is a language learning app built around speaking out loud. English speakers can learn Spanish, French, Korean, Japanese, Italian or Simplified Chinese through lessons written by experts and then personalized by AI.
The app follows a three-step "Speak Method": Learn, Practice, Apply. You practice conversations with the AI Speak Tutor and get feedback on your pronunciation and phrasing as you speak. Streaks, leagues, reminders and progress tracking are there to keep you practicing. The Premium Plus plan adds review sessions built from your own mistakes and custom "Made for You" lessons.
Speak works on iOS, Android and the web. It suits people who want to get comfortable speaking a new language, not just reading it. There is also Speak for Business, which offers team training and an admin portal.
Key features
- AI conversation practice with the Speak Tutor
- Real-time feedback on pronunciation and phrasing
- Expert-built lessons personalized by AI
- Review sessions built from your mistakes (Premium Plus)
- Custom Made for You lessons (Premium Plus)
- Streaks, leagues, reminders and progress tracking
- Courses in Spanish, French, Korean, Japanese, Italian and Chinese
- Business plan with an admin portal for teams
Use cases
Who it's for
Preparing for travel
Practice everyday conversations with the AI tutor before a trip to Spain, France, Japan or Korea.
Building speaking confidence
Learners who can read but freeze when speaking get spoken practice with feedback on pronunciation.
Team language training
Companies can use Speak for Business to train employees and track their progress through an admin portal.
Speak pricing
From the vendor's site, checked Oct 26, 2026; we re-check prices monthly. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
Speak Premium
subscription
Not published (varies by region)
- Core learning experience
- 7-day free trial
Speak Premium Plus
subscription
Not published (varies by region)
- Everything in Premium
- Personalized review based on your mistakes
- Made for You custom lessons
Speak for Business
Not published
- Team training
- Admin portal
How Speak compares
- Speak has no free plan, while 3 of the 4 alternatives below have one.
| Tool | Starts at | Free plan | Free trial | API | Open source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S | — | — | — | — | ||
| B | — | — | — | — | Speak vs Babbel | |
| M | — | — | — | — | Speak vs Memrise | |
| P | $8/mo | — | — | — | — | Speak vs Praktika |
| B | — | — | — | — | Speak vs Busuu |
Compare 6 capabilities
| Capability | Speak | Babbel | Memrise | Praktika |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI conversation | — | |||
| Pronunciation feedback | — | |||
| Native-language tutor | — | — | — | |
| Placement test | — | — | — | |
| Mistake-based review | — | — | — | |
| Native speaker video | — | — | — |
Capabilities as stated on each vendor's own site; — means the site doesn't say. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
Speak data and privacy
Trains AI on your content
Not stated
Data retention
Kept no longer than reasonably necessary; then deleted or deidentified
“We will usually retain the personal data we collect about you for no longer than reasonably necessary to fulfil the purposes for which it was collected”
Where data is stored
Not stated
Security and compliance
None stated
From Speak's own privacy and security pages , checked Oct 28, 2026. We only show what the vendor states in writing; “not stated” means the pages don't say.
Pros and cons
Strengths
- 7-day free trial
- Available on iOS, Android and web
- Focus on spoken practice with real-time feedback
- Business plan available for teams
Limitations
- Prices are not published on the website
- Only six languages offered, all taught from English
- Personalized review and custom lessons require Premium Plus
Speak FAQ
How much does Speak cost?
The website does not list prices. Prices vary by plan, region and promotion, and current prices are shown in the app.
Is there a free trial?
Yes, there is a 7-day free trial.
Which languages can I learn?
Spanish, French, Korean, Japanese, Italian and Simplified Chinese, all taught to English speakers.
What does Premium Plus add?
Review sessions based on your mistakes, plus custom Made for You lessons.
Which platforms does Speak support?
iOS, Android and the web.
User reviews
No reviews yet. Used Speak? Be the first.
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
Speak
Free trial