HLexis+ AI vs NotebookLM
Pricing, features, platforms and who each one suits — side by side.
L
Choose Lexis+ AI if…
- you're in its core audience: law firm attorneys, in-house counsel
N
Choose NotebookLM if…
- you want a free plan to start with
- you're in its core audience: students, researchers
Side by side
Feature Lexis+ AI NotebookLM
Pricing modelContact for pricingFreemium
Starting price——
Free plan
Free trial
API
Open source
PlatformsWebWeb
CategoryLegalResearch Assistants
Rank in its category#4 of 10—
CompanyLexisNexisGoogle
Based inGermany—
Founded1973—
Part ofReed Elsevier—
Key features
L Lexis+ AI
- Protégé AI assistant built for legal professionals
- Legal research summaries grounded in LexisNexis content
- Drafts motions, briefs and transactional documents
- Step-by-step refinement of drafted documents
- Summarizes and analyzes large legal documents
- Secure Vault for uploading documents for AI review
- Connects firm knowledge bases, iManage and SharePoint
- General AI mode with leading AI models
N NotebookLM
- Notebooks organized around your uploaded sources
- Answers questions using a Gemini model
- Up to 600 sources per notebook on top tiers
- Notebook sharing, with advanced controls on Enterprise
- Workspace and Workspace for Education access
- Enterprise security controls via Google Cloud
Plans and prices
From each vendor's site. Prices change — confirm before buying.
Lexis+ AI
Contact for pricing. Plan details aren't published.
NotebookLM
StandardFree
Plus (Google AI Plus)Price not stated
Pro (Google AI Pro)Price not stated
Ultra (Google AI Ultra)Price not stated
EnterpriseCustom
Strengths and limitations
Lexis+ AI
- Answers grounded in LexisNexis's own legal content
- Vendor states customer data is never used to train AI models
- Integrates with iManage and SharePoint
- No public pricing; sales contact required
- Product has been renamed Lexis+ with Protégé, which may cause confusion
- Features vary by region
NotebookLM
- Free Standard tier allows 100 notebooks and 50 sources per notebook
- Paid tiers raise limits to as many as 600 sources per notebook
- Available through Workspace, Workspace for Education and Google Cloud
- NotebookLM help page gives no prices; they sit on separate Google AI plan pages
- Watermarks stay on output in India, South Korea and Vietnam even on paid plans
- Google labels plan limits as subject to change
More comparisons
Other options to consider
H
HH

Contact
W
WW


Contact
I
II


Contact
S
SS


Contact
L
LL


Contact
D
DD


Contact
Facts from each vendor's public pages, prices checked Oct 26, 2026. Editorial policy