Upscayl
Free, open-source AI image upscaler for desktop, with a paid cloud option
Own Upscayl? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.

Pricing
Free · from $24.99/mo
Free trial
Yes
Open source
Yes
Company
Upscayl. AI Corp
Platforms
What is Upscayl?
Upscayl is an AI image upscaler that enlarges and sharpens low-resolution images by up to 16x. The desktop app is free and open source and runs on Linux, macOS and Windows. It offers several AI models, batch processing and a "double upscale" option that runs an image through the model twice.
Upscayl Cloud is the hosted version. It runs in the browser on desktop, mobile and tablet, and charges in credits. The cloud version adds face enhancement, detail recovery, preservation of color accuracy for printing, cloud storage and text-to-image generation in several styles.
The free desktop app fits photographers, designers and hobbyists who want to upscale on their own hardware. The credit-based cloud plans are for people who need very large outputs, up to 256MP on Pro, or who don't want to rely on a local GPU.
Key features
- AI image upscaling up to 16x
- Multiple selectable upscaling models
- Batch upscaling of many images
- Double upscaling for extra enlargement
- AI face enhancement and detail recovery
- Color accuracy preservation for printing
- Text-to-image generation in several styles
- Cloud processing up to 256MP or 512MP
Use cases
Who it's for
Preparing images for print
Upscale low-resolution photos while keeping color accuracy for large prints.
Restoring old or small photos
Use face enhancement and detail recovery to sharpen small or degraded images.
Bulk processing image libraries
Batch upscale whole folders on the free desktop app.
Upscaling without a strong GPU
Run jobs in Upscayl Cloud from a browser on desktop, mobile or tablet.
Upscayl pricing
From the vendor's site, checked Oct 26, 2026; we re-check prices monthly. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
Desktop
forever
Free
- Open source
- Linux, macOS, Windows
Cloud Free Trial
one-time
$0
- 10 credits
- Requires login and trial application
Pro
month
$24.99
- 300 credits/month
- Upscale up to 256MP
- Credits roll over
- 6 months storage, priority support
Business
month
Not listed
- Up to 512MP images
- Credit rollover
- 6 months storage
Custom
contact
Custom
- Custom credit amount
- Unlimited storage
- Priority email and chat support
What the free plan gets you
- Free Trial: 10 credits included
$0.083 per upscaled image on the Pro Plan plan ($24.99/mo ÷ 300 images).
Which plan do you need?
- Let's EnhanceStarter$9/mo
- Topaz GigapixelPersonal$12.42/mo
- UpscaylPro$24.99/mo
The cheapest paid plan with a published price that fits. Custom and sales-quoted plans aren't included.
How Upscayl compares
- Upscayl has a free plan, like 2 of the 4 alternatives below.
- It is open source, the only one here.
| Tool | Starts at | Cost per upscaled image | Free plan | Free trial | API | Open source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| U | $24.99/mo | $0.083 | — | ||||
| T | $12/mo | — | — | — | — | — | Upscayl vs Topaz Gigapixel |
| R | — | — | — | — | — | — | Upscayl vs Remini |
| L | $9/mo | $0.09 | — | Upscayl vs Let's Enhance | |||
| A | — | — | — | — | Upscayl vs Adobe Firefly |
Compare 8 capabilities
| Capability | Upscayl | Topaz Gigapixel | Let's Enhance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 16x upscale | |||
| Face restoration | — | ||
| Old photo restore | — | — | |
| Generative upscaling | — | — | |
| Video upscaling | — | — | |
| Batch processing | — | ||
| Photoshop/Lightroom plugin | — | — | |
| Runs locally offline | — |
Capabilities as stated on each vendor's own site; — means the site doesn't say. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
Upscayl data and privacy
Trains AI on your content
No
“Your images are not used to train AI models.”
Data retention
Inputs up to 1 day; generated outputs 180 days or until deleted
“Uploaded input files and URL-retrieved inputs: we aim to retain for up to 1 days from upload”
Where data is stored
Not stated
Security and compliance
None stated
From Upscayl's own privacy and security pages , checked Oct 28, 2026. We only show what the vendor states in writing; “not stated” means the pages don't say.
Pros and cons
Strengths
- Desktop app is free and open source
- Runs on Linux, macOS and Windows
- Cloud credits roll over on Pro
- Free trial with 10 cloud credits
Limitations
- Cloud usage is credit-based
- Credits are lost and history is deleted after cancelling
- Business and annual prices not listed on pricing page
- No API mentioned
Upscayl FAQ
Is Upscayl free?
Yes, the desktop app is free and open source. Upscayl Cloud is paid, with a free trial that includes 10 credits.
How much does Upscayl Cloud cost?
The Pro plan is $24.99 and includes 300 credits per month, with upscaling up to 256MP. Custom plans are priced on request.
Which platforms are supported?
The desktop app runs on Linux, macOS and Windows. The cloud version works on desktop, mobile and tablet.
What happens if I cancel my subscription?
Credits don't roll over after cancellation, and your Upscayl history is deleted after one month.
User reviews
No reviews yet. Used Upscayl? Be the first.
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
Upscayl
Free · from $24.99/mo
Tools similar to Upscayl
AI image upscaling up to 16x for photographers and creative professionals
AI photo enhancer for improving and restoring photos and videos in the browser
Browser-based AI photo upscaling, enhancement and restoration up to 512 MP