Best of
Top 9 AI Tools for Accounting and Tax Professionals in 2026: Ranked by What Actually Saves You Hours
Sep 13, 2026 · 18 min read
AI bookkeeping automation platform built for accounting firms and their clients
Own Botkeeper? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.

Pricing
From $53/mo
Platforms
Botkeeper is an AI accounting platform that automates bookkeeping work for accounting firms, including transaction categorization, bank reconciliation, journal entries and month-end review. It is sold to firms rather than to individual businesses, and each license covers one client entity.
The platform uses machine learning to post entries directly to the general ledger only when its confidence is high. Botkeeper says those entries are 97% accurate, and anything with lower confidence is sent to the firm for review. Around the automation, it includes a Close Tracker, a Firm Insights dashboard, an Activity Hub for client communication, task and project management, document storage and a password manager.
Botkeeper fits accounting and bookkeeping firms that manage many clients and want more capacity without hiring more staff. The price per license goes down as a firm adds clients. Firms can pay monthly or annually.
Who it's for
A firm can take on more clients by automating categorization and reconciliations instead of adding staff.
Close Tracker and automated review with anomaly detection help firms finish monthly closes across many clients.
The AI posts entries it is confident about and sends the uncertain ones to accountants for review.
The Activity Hub, recurring client requests and document storage keep client communication and files in one place.
From the vendor's site, checked Oct 26, 2026; we re-check prices monthly. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
1-4 Licenses
month
$149/license/mo monthly or $134/license/mo billed annually
5-9 Licenses
month
$109/license/mo monthly or $98/license/mo billed annually
10-24 Licenses
month
$79/license/mo monthly or $71/license/mo billed annually
25+ Licenses
month
$59/license/mo monthly or $53/license/mo billed annually
| Cost for a team, per month | 1 person | 5 people | 20 people |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1-4 Licensesper seat, up to 4 | $134 | — | — |
| 5-9 Licensesper seat, up to 9 | $490 | $490 | — |
| 10-24 Licensesper seat, up to 24 | $710 | $710 | $1,420 |
| 25+ Licensesper seat | $1,325 | $1,325 | $1,325 |
Billed yearly where the plan offers it. — means the plan doesn't allow that many people.
Which plan do you need?
The cheapest paid plan with a published price that fits. Custom and sales-quoted plans aren't included.
| Tool | Starts at | Free plan | Free trial | API | Open source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B | $53/mo | — | — | — | — | |
| I | — | — | — | — | Botkeeper vs Intuit TurboTax / Intuit Assist | |
| P | $99/mo | — | — | — | Botkeeper vs Pilot | |
| T | Quote | — | — | — | Botkeeper vs Thomson Reuters Checkpoint Edge | |
| B | Quote | — | — | — | — | Botkeeper vs Bloomberg Tax |
| Capability | Botkeeper | Intuit TurboTax / Intuit Assist | Pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bill pay | — | — | |
| QuickBooks/Xero sync | — | — | |
| Reconciliation | — | ||
| Forecasting | — | — | |
| Human experts included |
Capabilities as stated on each vendor's own site; — means the site doesn't say. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
Trains AI on your content
Not stated
Data retention
Not stated
Where data is stored
US
“All of our systems and databases are located in AWS data centers within the US”
Security and compliance
From Botkeeper's own privacy and security pages , checked Oct 28, 2026. We only show what the vendor states in writing; “not stated” means the pages don't say.
“Enrico Palmerino Founder & Chief Executive Officer Angelina Palmerino Co-Founder & Chief Product Officer”
From Botkeeper's own about, terms and privacy pages, checked Oct 28, 2026.
Strengths
Limitations
It is priced per license, and one license covers one client. Monthly billing runs from $149 per license (1-4 licenses) down to $59 (25+ licenses). Annual billing saves about 10%.
No. Botkeeper offers month-to-month billing instead, which you can cancel at any time.
Credit cards, Google Pay, and ACH from U.S. bank accounts.
Accounting firms that manage bookkeeping for many client businesses.
Botkeeper says the AI posts to the general ledger only when its confidence is high, with 97% accuracy on those entries. Lower-confidence items go to the firm for review.
No reviews yet. Used Botkeeper? Be the first.
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
Best of
Sep 13, 2026 · 18 min read
News
Sep 14, 2026 · 7 min read
Botkeeper
From $53/mo
Guided tax filing software with AI answers and optional help from tax experts
AI-assisted bookkeeping, tax and CFO services for startups and small businesses
AI tax research with cited answers from Checkpoint content for tax professionals