Guide
AI Documentation Tools for Solo Therapists: What's Worth Paying For in 2026
Oct 15, 2026 · 11 min read

HIPAA-compliant EHR and practice management for therapists and wellness pros
Own SimplePractice? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.

Pricing
From $49/mo
Free trial
Yes
Company
SimplePractice, LLCUnited States
Platforms
SimplePractice is an EHR and practice management platform for therapists, speech-language pathologists, occupational therapists, psychiatrists and other health and wellness professionals. It handles scheduling, billing, documentation, insurance and telehealth in one HIPAA-compliant system.
The core plans include telehealth, a template library and insurance tools. Optional add-ons cover more ground. Care Aide is an AI suite with Note Taker for progress notes, Session Sidekick for live telehealth support, Treatment Planner (beta) and Client Summaries. ePrescribe handles medications. Insurance Navigator, listed as coming soon, adds claim checking and benefits verification.
SimplePractice serves both solo and group practices. Groups with six or more practitioners can get custom pricing through a sales consultant. The company says more than 250,000 practitioners and 20 million clients use the platform. New users get a 30-day free trial with no credit card required.
Who it's for
Handle scheduling, billing, notes and telehealth in a single HIPAA-compliant system.
The Note Taker add-on transcribes sessions and drafts progress notes using AI.
Psychiatrists can use the ePrescribe add-on to send prescriptions and order refills electronically.
The Plus plan adds group appointments, group telehealth and additional practitioners, and groups of six or more can get custom pricing.
From the vendor's site, checked Oct 26, 2026; we re-check prices monthly. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
Starter
month
$49/mo
Essential
month
$79/mo
Plus
month
$99/mo
Group (6+ practitioners)
custom
Custom
Which plan do you need?
The cheapest paid plan with a published price that fits. Custom and sales-quoted plans aren't included.
| Tool | Starts at | Free plan | Free trial | API | Open source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S | $49/mo | — | — | — | ||
| W | $199/mo | — | — | — | — | SimplePractice vs Weave |
| W | Quote | — | — | — | — | SimplePractice vs WebPT |
| C | Quote | — | — | — | SimplePractice vs CareStack | |
| T | — | — | — | — | — | SimplePractice vs TherapyNotes |
| Capability | SimplePractice | WebPT | CareStack |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ambient scribing | — | ||
| Billing code suggestions | — | — | |
| Custom note templates | — | — | |
| Patient letters & instructions | — | — | |
| AI phone receptionist | — | — |
Capabilities as stated on each vendor's own site; — means the site doesn't say. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
Trains AI on your content
Not stated
Data retention
Not stated
Where data is stored
Not stated
Security and compliance
From SimplePractice's own privacy and security pages , checked Oct 28, 2026. We only show what the vendor states in writing; “not stated” means the pages don't say.
Strengths
Limitations
Solo plans are Starter at $49/mo, Essential at $79/mo and Plus at $99/mo. A promotion gives 50% off for 3 months if you start a paid account within 7 days.
Yes. The trial lasts 30 days and does not require a credit card.
Yes. The site describes it as HIPAA-compliant EHR and practice management software.
Yes, as a paid add-on. Note Taker costs $35/mo after a 30-day free period, and it is also part of the Care Aide suite.
On the Plus plan the first practitioner is $99/mo and each additional one is $74/mo. Groups of six or more can get custom pricing.
No reviews yet. Used SimplePractice? Be the first.
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
Guide
Oct 15, 2026 · 11 min read
SimplePractice
From $49/mo