Best of
Top 10 AI Automation & Workflow Tools in 2026: Ranked by Real-World Impact
May 17, 2026 · 16 min read
Enterprise platform to connect apps and data and govern AI agents and workflows
Own Workato? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.

Pricing
Free · from $100/mo
Free trial
Yes
API
Yes
Platforms
Workato is an integration and automation platform (iPaaS) that connects business apps, data, workflows and AI agents in one place. It describes itself as a control and execution platform for enterprise AI. The Control Plane handles governance, identity, policy, observability, cost controls and routing across AI models. The Execution Plane runs workflows, data orchestration and agents.
The site lists connectivity to more than 17,000 apps, APIs, databases, files and MCP servers. Modules include API management, Enterprise MCP, intelligent document processing, low-code apps, B2B/EDI, RPA and a data hub. AIRO is a multi-agent assistant that helps build, analyze and troubleshoot agents, MCPs, workflows and integrations. Workato says it also works from inside Claude, Codex and Cursor.
Usage is billed in credits. A free plan includes 50K one-time credits, Pro costs $100/month and Enterprise is priced on request. The platform is aimed at IT and operations teams at mid-size and large companies, and at software vendors that want to embed integrations in their products.
Who it's for
Connect systems such as Salesforce and NetSuite so orders, invoices and payments move between them without manual steps.
Coordinate HR, IT and account provisioning across tools like Workday, ServiceNow and Slack when someone joins.
Give IT one place to see, approve and control the agents, models and MCP interactions that different teams build.
Software companies can offer native integrations to their customers through Workato's embedded iPaaS.
From the vendor's site, checked Oct 26, 2026; we re-check prices monthly. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
Free
month
$0
Pro
month
$100
Enterprise
Custom
What the free plan gets you
| Cost for a team, per month | 1 person | 5 people | 20 people |
|---|---|---|---|
| Proflat, up to 3 | $100 | — | — |
Billed yearly where the plan offers it. — means the plan doesn't allow that many people.
Which plan do you need?
The cheapest paid plan with a published price that fits. Custom and sales-quoted plans aren't included.
| Tool | Starts at | Free plan | Free trial | API | Open source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| W | $100/mo | — | ||||
| Z | $19.99/mo | — | Workato vs Zapier | |||
| N | — | — | — | Workato vs n8n | ||
| M | $9/mo | — | — | Workato vs Make | ||
| M | $15/mo | — | — | — | Workato vs Microsoft Power Automate |
| Capability | Workato | Zapier | n8n | Make | Microsoft Power Automate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self-hosting | — | — | — | — | |
| MCP server | — | ||||
| AI agent builder | |||||
| Custom code steps | — | — | — | ||
| Prompt-to-workflow | — | ||||
| Desktop RPA | — | — | — | ||
| Custom connectors | |||||
| Embedded integrations | — | — | — |
Capabilities as stated on each vendor's own site; — means the site doesn't say. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
Trains AI on your content
Not stated
Data retention
Audit logs retained for configurable 90 days
“Audit logging with configurable 90-day retention captures workflow executions, configuration changes, and user actions.”
Where data is stored
US (Pro); Enterprise can choose other regions
“For the Workato Pro plan, customer data is hosted in the United States in secure, enterprise-grade cloud infrastructure.”
Security and compliance
From Workato's own privacy and security pages , checked Oct 28, 2026. We only show what the vendor states in writing; “not stated” means the pages don't say.
“Vijay Tella, CEO and Co-founder”
From Workato's own about, terms and privacy pages, checked Oct 28, 2026.
Strengths
Limitations
There is a Free plan at $0 with 50K one-time credits, a Pro plan at $100/month with recurring monthly credits, and an Enterprise plan with custom pricing.
A credit is the unit Workato uses to measure usage across the platform. It covers tasks for workflow runs, API calls, rows processed for data orchestration and Genie actions for agents.
Yes. Workato says it can arrange an Enterprise trial if you contact its team.
Pro plan data is hosted in the United States. Enterprise customers can choose other hosting locations, subject to availability.
Workato sends notifications and keeps access open for a period past your limit before it applies restrictions. Pro users can buy add-on credits.
No reviews yet. Used Workato? Be the first.
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
Best of
May 17, 2026 · 16 min read
Guide
Aug 2, 2026 · 12 min read
Guide
Jul 29, 2026 · 11 min read
Guide
Jul 13, 2026 · 11 min read
Guide
Jul 5, 2026 · 9 min read
Guide
Jul 3, 2026 · 10 min read
Workato
Free · from $100/mo