Best of
Top 8 AI Tools for Personal Knowledge Management in 2026: Ranked by Actual Usefulness
May 4, 2026 · 17 min read

Note-taking app that organizes ideas as linked objects instead of folders
Own Capacities? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.

Pricing
Free · from $9.99/mo
Free trial
Yes
API
Yes
Platforms
Capacities is a note-taking and personal knowledge management app that stores your ideas as connected objects (people, books, projects, meetings) rather than files in folders. Each object type has its own properties, and you can link anything to anything. Backlinks and a graph view show how notes relate.
You start with a daily note as an inbox, then turn thoughts into objects and create the object types you need as you go. Pro adds an AI assistant, whiteboards, task management, smart queries, calendar integration, Readwise/Kindle import, version history, and a public API.
The app runs on web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android with offline support. It is built for individuals rather than teams, such as writers, researchers, students and developers. Data is hosted in the EU, and you can export everything to Markdown, CSV and other formats at any time.
Who it's for
Capture daily notes and turn them into linked objects so past ideas resurface when relevant.
Keep sources, highlights and drafts connected; writers can build a wiki-like database of characters and worlds.
Organize lecture notes, tasks and sources in one place; students can get 40% off annual Pro during the back-to-school promotion.
Pro users can manage tasks inside project notes and sync with calendar.
From the vendor's site, checked Oct 26, 2026; we re-check prices monthly. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
Capacities Basic
forever
Free
Capacities Pro
month
$9.99/month
Capacities Believer
month
from $12.49/month
Plus AI Power-Up
month
$8.33/month billed annually
What the free plan gets you
Which plan do you need?
The cheapest paid plan with a published price that fits. Custom and sales-quoted plans aren't included.
| Tool | Starts at | Free plan | Free trial | API | Open source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C | $9.99/mo | — | ||||
| E | $14.99/mo | — | — | Capacities vs Evernote | ||
| N | — | — | Capacities vs Notion AI | |||
| R | — | — | — | Capacities vs Reflect Notes | ||
| N | — | — | — | — | Capacities vs NotebookLM |
| Capability | Capacities | Evernote | Notion AI | Reflect Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Local Markdown files | — | — | — | |
| Backlinks & graph | — | |||
| Meeting transcription | — | |||
| AI Q&A over notes | — | |||
| MCP connector | — | — | ||
| End-to-end encryption | — | — | — | |
| Web clipper | — | |||
| Shared workspaces | — | — |
Capabilities as stated on each vendor's own site; — means the site doesn't say. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
Trains AI on your content
No
“Die Daten werden nicht zur Verbesserung oder zum Training der KI-Modelle verwendet”
Data retention
AI providers store data only temporarily; no permanent storage of content
“Es erfolgt keine dauerhafte Speicherung Ihrer Inhalte bei den KI-Dienstleistern”
Where data is stored
Not stated
Security and compliance
None stated
From Capacities's own privacy and security pages , checked Oct 28, 2026. We only show what the vendor states in writing; “not stated” means the pages don't say.
From Capacities's own about, terms and privacy pages and Wikidata, checked Oct 28, 2026.
Strengths
Limitations
Yes. The Basic plan is free forever and includes unlimited spaces, objects and custom object types.
Capacities Pro is $9.99/month. Yearly billing saves 16%, and a free Pro trial is available in the app with no credit card required.
They have the same features. Believer, from $12.49/month, also gets beta access to new features and supports the team.
Web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android, with offline support.
On encrypted servers in certified EU data centers. The service is GDPR compliant, and you can export everything at any time.
No reviews yet. Used Capacities? Be the first.
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
Best of
May 4, 2026 · 17 min read
Guide
Jun 7, 2026 · 10 min read
Guide
May 18, 2026 · 9 min read
Capacities
Free · from $9.99/mo
Notes, tasks and calendar in one app, with AI search and transcription
AI agents, search and meeting notes built into the Notion workspace for teams
Open-source networked note-taking with daily notes, backlinks and local Markdown