ChatGPT
General-purpose AI chat assistant for writing, research, coding and everyday tasks
Own ChatGPT? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.

Pricing
Free · from $8/mo
Company
OpenAI
Platforms
What is ChatGPT?
ChatGPT is OpenAI's conversational AI assistant. You type or talk to it in a chat interface, and it answers questions and helps with writing, analysis, coding and other everyday tasks.
It comes in several tiers. The Free plan covers everyday use with limited features. Paid individual plans (Go, Plus and Pro) give more access. OpenAI's pages say Codex, its coding agent, is included in every plan from Free through Enterprise.
For organizations, ChatGPT Business is billed per seat and starts at 2 users, and Enterprise is sold through OpenAI's sales team. The product fits individuals who want a general assistant, professionals who rely on it for long working sessions, and companies that want a managed workspace for their teams.
Key features
- Chat-based answers to questions and tasks
- Help with writing and editing
- Coding help through the included Codex agent
- Several individual tiers from Free to Pro
- Per-seat team workspaces through Business
- Enterprise plan sold through sales
Use cases
Who it's for
Drafting and editing text
Write emails, documents and summaries, then improve them by going back and forth in the chat.
Coding help
Use the included Codex agent and the chat to write and debug code.
Research and Q&A
Ask questions and work through problems step by step.
Team productivity
Organizations can give staff a shared ChatGPT workspace through Business or Enterprise plans.
ChatGPT pricing
From the vendor's site, checked Oct 26, 2026; we re-check prices monthly. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
Free
month
$0
- Everyday use with limited features
- Includes Codex
Go
month
$8/mo (US)
- Low-cost individual plan
- US price; varies by country
Plus
month
$20/mo
- More access than Go
Pro
month
From $100/mo
- Pro 100 ($100), Pro 200 ($200), Pro 500 ($500)
- Ultrafast speed only on Pro 500
Business
month
$20/user/mo billed annually; $25 monthly
- Starts at 2 users
- Premium seat: $100/user/mo billed annually, $125 billed monthly
Enterprise
contact sales
Custom
- Sold through OpenAI's sales team
| Cost for a team, per month | 1 person | 5 people | 20 people |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goflat, up to 1 | $8 | — | — |
| Plusflat | $20 | $20 | $20 |
| Proflat | $100 | $100 | $100 |
| Businessper seat | $40 | $100 | $400 |
Billed yearly where the plan offers it. — means the plan doesn't allow that many people.
Which plan do you need?
- ChatGPTGo$8/mo
- ClaudePro$17/mo
- GeminiGemini Enterprise Business$21/mo
- Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot$23.50/mo
- GrokSuperGrok$30/mo
The cheapest paid plan with a published price that fits. Custom and sales-quoted plans aren't included.
How ChatGPT compares
- At $8/mo, ChatGPT has the lowest entry price of the 4 tools here with published prices.
- ChatGPT has a free plan, like all 4 alternatives below.
- It has no public API, unlike 3 of the 4 others.
| Tool | Starts at | Free plan | Free trial | API | Open source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C | $8/mo | — | — | — | ||
| G | — | — | ChatGPT vs Gemini | |||
| C | $17/mo | — | — | ChatGPT vs Claude | ||
| M | $18/mo | — | — | — | ChatGPT vs Microsoft Copilot | |
| G | $30/mo | — | — | ChatGPT vs Grok |
Compare 3 capabilities
| Capability | ChatGPT | Microsoft Copilot |
|---|---|---|
| Web search | ||
| File upload & analysis | — | |
| Image generation |
Capabilities as stated on each vendor's own site; — means the site doesn't say. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
ChatGPT data and privacy
Trains AI on your content
Yes
“Chats may be reviewed and used to improve our AI models.”
Data retention
Not stated
Where data is stored
Not stated
Security and compliance
None stated
From ChatGPT's own pages, checked Oct 28, 2026. We only show what the vendor states in writing; “not stated” means the pages don't say.
Pros and cons
Strengths
- Free plan available
- Go plan costs $8/month in the US
- Codex is included in all plans, Free included
- Business plan starts at just 2 users
Limitations
- Free plan has limited features
- Pro tiers cost $100–$500 per month
- Enterprise pricing is only available from sales
ChatGPT FAQ
Is ChatGPT free?
Yes. There is a $0 Free plan for everyday use with limited features.
How much do the paid plans cost?
Go costs $8/month in the US, Plus $20/month, and Pro comes in $100, $200 and $500 monthly tiers.
What does ChatGPT Business cost?
$25 per user per month billed monthly, or $20 billed annually, with a minimum of 2 users. Premium seats cost more.
Is Codex included?
Yes. OpenAI's pages say Codex is included in the Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterprise plans.
User reviews
No reviews yet. Used ChatGPT? Be the first.
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
ChatGPT in our articles
Best of
Top 9 AI Tools for Accounting and Tax Professionals in 2026: Ranked by What Actually Saves You Hours
Sep 13, 2026 · 18 min read
Best of
Top 9 AI Tools for Real Estate Agents in 2026: Ranked by What Actually Wins Listings
Sep 6, 2026 · 16 min read
Best of
Top 9 AI Tools for Education and Learning in 2026: Ranked by How Much They Actually Teach You
Jul 19, 2026 · 17 min read
Best of
Top 9 AI Writing Tools for Professionals in 2026: Ranked by Output That Actually Works
Jun 14, 2026 · 14 min read
Best of
Top 10 AI Tools for Researchers and Academics in 2026: Ranked by What Actually Speeds Up Your Work
Jun 7, 2026 · 16 min read
ChatGPT
Free · from $8/mo
Tools similar to ChatGPT
Google's AI assistant for chat, research, images, video and everyday tasks
AI assistant for chat, writing, coding, research and team work
AI assistant for chat, web search, writing and images at work and home